Inspiration for FALL 2017/18 – CERMIN

Singapore is home for me, and I always turn to her to seek inspiration for my collections each season.

image6-horz

I have always been influenced by my maternal Peranakan side of my family when it comes to design, colors and prints and I always opt for the bright, bold and beautiful.

Having grown up in the eastern part of the island, I have always been exposed to Peranakan architecture. I am always left in awe at the meticulous detailing of the tiles that make them so special.
The Peranakan culture shares great nostalgia and significance for local communities in Singapore. They are descendants of Chinese immigrants who came to the Malay archipelago known for embracing modern thinking way ahead of their time.

HOUSE

Today, many Peranakan houses are protected by the government and remain a crucial part of the Singaporean heritage. Other places you can find Peranakan homes in Singapore are in Petain Road, Emerald Hill, Chinatown and Neil Road.

11

Tiles to me are like mirrors – Different people, different beliefs, different yearnings, different hopes, different dreams. All captured in these tiles, not only becoming a melting pot but a beautiful mirror.

CERMIN means mirror in the Malay language.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑